bristolbrunelleadership

Leadership approaches, support and ideas from Bristol Brunel Academy

Risking it with Rhetoric Part Two: Designed to be Spoken

Leave a comment

mrbunkeredu

photo 2 (2)

A couple of weeks ago I blogged about my experimentation with teaching rhetoric. The process marked a departure from what I had taught in previous years. My main justification for this was that if my students were going to analyse non-fiction, then certain speeches, packed full of fascinating language and steeped in our cultural history, would be much more rewarding than a couple of newspaper articles.

So, what next? My students (finally) knew that Winston Churchill didn’t work for Direct Line, and we had a pretty good grasp of the Emancipation Proclamation – now it was time to do some writing. The curriculum for year 8 was moving to persuasive writing, and I wanted to try something linked to our study of rhetoric. Here’s a brief outline of my decision:

  • Every student would research, write and deliver a speech to the rest of the class.
  • The speeches had to be about an

View original post 971 more words

Leave a Reply

