bristolbrunelleadership

Leadership approaches, support and ideas from Bristol Brunel Academy

‘Quick wins’ #15 – Getting students to articulate their learning.

Leave a comment

Never Stop Learning

Getting students to articulate their learning by Steve Gill. Getting students to articulate their learning by Steve Gill.

Why? I guess I was never really convinced by the idea of getting students to articulate their learning; I thought it was one of those tokenistic additions to lessons, something that would please the observer rather than having an impact on students’ learning. So, when students were clearly making progress through their written work, I was little concerned if they couldn’t express precisely what they were learning, verbatim, like they had regurgitated every word of the specification. I was also very cautious of time that this took; I feared it would slow down the pace of the lesson, that I would lose the students before I had a chance to engage them.  I was wrong…

Possible solution. I now think that getting students to precisely articulate their learning is integral to their engagement and to their progress. So, what changed? Persistence…

View original post 562 more words

Leave a Reply

